Become a Patron!

Warriors stars David Fusitu’a, Solomone Kata, Agnatius Paasi and Leivaha Pulu have been named in Mate Ma’a Tonga’s preliminary 29-man squad ahead of their historic October 20 Test against Australia in Auckland.

Paasi debuted for Tonga alongside Kata in 2014, but the front-rower has not played for the island nation since.

Kata and Fusitu’a, who both played for New Zealand in 2016, were heroes of Mate Ma’a’s unforgettable 2017 Rugby League World Cup ride, while Pulu played his sole match for Tonga against Fiji in the 2017 Pacific Test in Campbelltown.

Former Warriors Tui Lolohea, Ata Hingano, Konrad Hurrell, Siliva Havili and Ukuma Ta’ai are also part of the squad, which for the first time includes Cronulla back-rower Scott Sorensen, nephew of Kiwis greats Dane and Kurt Sorensen.

“We are very pleased with the depth in the squad we have managed to name for this very important Test match,” Tonga coach Woolf said.

“We feel it is representative of the depth of Tongan rugby league in both the NRL and English Super League, and also rewards players that have made a firm commitment to playing for their country of heritage.

“This will be a huge occasion for Tonga to take on the top-ranked rugby league country in the world, so we need every player we can committed to that goal.”

Tonga squad

Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks)
Addin Fonua-Blake (Manly Warringah)
Mahe Fonua (Wests Tigers)
Moeaki Fotuaika (Gold Coast Titans)
David Fusitua (NZ Warriors)
Siliva Havilli (Canberra Raiders)
Ata Hingano (Canberra Raiders)
Will Hopoate (Canterbury Bulldogs)
Koniseti Hurrell (Gold Coast Titans)
Michael Jennings (Parramatta Eels)
Robert Jennings (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Solomone Kata (NZ Warriors)
Sione Katoa (Penrith Panthers)
Samisoni Langi (Catalans Dragons)
Tuimoala Lolohea (Wests Tigers)
Sika Manu (Hull FC)
Sam Moa (Catalans Dragons)
Ben Murdoch-Masila (Warrington Wolves)
Joe Ofahengaue (Brisbane Broncos)
Tevita Pangai jnr (Brisbane Broncos)
Agnatius Paasi (NZ Warriors)
Leivaha Pulu (NZ Warriors)
Scott Sorensen (Cronulla Sharks)
Ukuma Ta’ai (Huddersfield Giants)
Jason Taumalolo (North Qld Cowboys)
Tevita Tatola (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Siosiua Taukeiaho (Sydney Roosters)
Peni Terepo (Parramatta Eels)
Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters)

Facebook Comments Box
Become a Patron!

Categories: Articles + Inteviews, WARRIORS NEWS

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: